Female genital mutilation(FGM).
🔹FGM is when the genitals of a girl are deliberately cut.
🔹This usually takes place before the girl hits puberty, and is a very painful and dangerous procedure.
🔹It happens in many countries across the world and is often passed down as a custom in the community
Types of FGM

  1. Clitoridectomy
    This involves the total or partial removal of the clitoris from the rest of the female genitalia. In rare cases, it also includes the removal of the prepuce, the fold of skin surrounding the clitoris.
  2. Excision
    Excision involves the partial or total removal of the clitoris, the labia minora and/or the labia majora.
  3. Infibulation
    This is the most invasive form of FGM. Infibulation requires the creation of a covering seal by narrowing the vaginal opening. The seal is formed by cutting and repositioning either the labia minora, majora or both and then stitching them together. Infibulation might also include the removal of the clitoris.
  4. Others: This refers to any other injury to the female genital organs. This can include pricking or piercing any part of the genitalia, incising (cutting), scraping any part of the genitals, using corrosive substances, pulling, stretching the labia, cauterizing any part of the genitalia and any other form of injury imagined or practiced for non-medical reasons.

🔴 What is the clitoris, and why is this problematic?

The clitoris is the main female sexual organ. Existing purely for sexual pleasure the clitoris has over 8000 nerve endings, more than double the amount of nerves found in the male penis, or anywhere else in the human body. The clitoris is around 2–3cm in length, with the majority situated within the female body leaving only the head exposed. As an organ, the clitoris fills with blood upon stimulation. This means that if cut, blood loss can be fatal.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *